Old Macdonald had a farm

November 25, 2008 § Leave a comment

Old Macdonald had a farm, E-I-E-I-O
And on that farm he had a cow
With a moo moo here and a moo moo there
Here a moo, there a moo, everywhere a moo moo
Old Macdonald had a farm, E-I-E-I-O

My version has a just few animals in it, but the list of potentials goes on and on! Seemingly universally known, I think this song is a stalwart of parent toddler groups up and down the country. It is also the basis

Old Macdonald had a farm glove puppet book, published by Scholastic Books

Old Macdonald had a farm glove puppet book, published by Scholastic Books

for many books, we have this one that is a glove with a board book on the front. Maybe one day I’ll post a little video of me singing along with the glove!

I haven’t found much on its history, apart from a rather geeky US-centric entry on wikipedia. I’d be interested to hear from anyone who knows more.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Old Macdonald had a farm at Songs of Childhood.

meta

