The Song Collector

November 6, 2008 § Leave a comment

Since having children, I’ve become a sort of ‘song collector’. I go to the usual round of parent toddler groups and little music classes. At almost every one I come across a new song, the variety of songs out there is quite incredible! I’m lucky to have quite a good memory for tunes, and I started to find that I remembered lots of tunes, but didn’t know the words. I was also rediscovering the songs dimly remembered from my own childhood, but again words or bits of tune were missing. I started keeping an eye out for good books on nursery rhymes and CDs that didn’t have a lot of distracting background arrangements but there seem to be remarkably few out there. So many of the songs are such fun, and I don’t want them to get lost in the cacophony of music that we adults listen to, so this is my contribution to keeping songs of childhood alive and well. 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Song Collector at Songs of Childhood.

meta

