1 2 3 4 5, Once I caught a fish alive,

January 11, 2012 § 1 Comment


1 2 3 4 5,
Once I caught a fish alive,
6 7 8 9 10,
Then I let it go again,
Why did you let it go?
Because it bit my finger so!
Which little finger did it bite?
This little finger on my right!

A classic counting rhyme, with good actions too.. and to my surprise it has very traditional origins, a version with a hare rather than a fish, can be traced back to 1765, according to the Oxford Dictionary of Nursery Rhymes. It also points out that the song lends itself to a variety of versions, and quote a version used by the Baptist Mission turning ‘Once I caught a fish alive’ to ‘Jesus Christ is still alive’!

I also have a lovely book – Stomp Chomp Big Roars! Here come the Dinosaurs! by Kaye Urmansky which has a dinosaur version in it.

1 2 3 4 5
Five fat dinosaurs take a dive
6 7 8 9 10
Time to fill the swamp again!

 

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to 1 2 3 4 5, Once I caught a fish alive,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 1 2 3 4 5, Once I caught a fish alive, at Songs of Childhood.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

